Which future?

quote_2014-08-15

by Kris

The 2014 Scottish Independence Referendum Voting Guide came in the post today. The contrast between the two visions of both campaigns is fairly evident judging by the tones and context.

As a person who is very optimistic about the direction Scotland could go in post-independence and how we have a real once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to take responsibility for our future here, every time I read anything from the “No Thanks” lot I just get turned off by the relentless negativity and stultifying arrogance.

The caustic prose of “I am not putting my family’s future at risk so nationalists can get what they want.”

I have never been a nationalist. If anything I’d rather open Scotland up to a range of possibilities on a world stage rather than continue to have it shackled to the dead concept of unionism which is evidently not working and the whole absurd carousel of Westminster politics has alienated Scotland.

I also hate being lied to by Westminster. I know the “more powers guaranteed” empty promise won’t be forthcoming. We’ve been here before and we’ll be here again if its a No vote.

Some people dismiss this and say “well I am happy with what I have, it doesn’t affect me, I see no good reason to change it.”

I do.

I have had experience of a benefits system that railroads and threatens you into trying to take part-time jobs that offer crap wages for the sake of getting you off their books quickly even though you have previously paid into the system all your life and are absolutely entitled to it but a government full of multi-millionaires who got those jobs via nepotism situated 500 miles away wants to make you feel guilty about it by labelling you a “scrounger” and penalising you at every available opportunity to frighten you off ever daring to make a claim.

They have a vision of a health care system that involves you satisfying a credit check before going through with an operation.

They want to use Scotland’s income to build infrastructure projects that costs billions of pounds most people north of the border will never see the benefit of but yet do absolutely nothing where real problems like the widening poverty gap that absolutely should not even exist in this country aren’t being prioritised.

Every person I have met who is involved with Yes has been positive about the future and are completely motivated to bring tangible and believable change in an independent Scotland. Whenever I see stuff like Better Together’s campaign material, I just think “I truly feel sorry for the people you are trying to deny a radical positive future to.”

No one said it will be a Utopian vision. The hard work will continue whatever happens.

Throwing it away for the sake of trying to lean on a government I never voted for that has contempt for people like myself who has had to look to them for support in the past?

That’s what I say “No thanks” to.

Tags: , , ,

About RIC Aberdeen

The Radical Independence Campaign sees Scottish independence as the first step towards creating a fairer, greener, more democratic place. RIC Aberdeen are a local campaigning group, ordinary people who want to make a difference. We do canvassing every Wednesday night, along with other events. Please get in touch for more info.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Welcome | Radical Independence Aberdeen - 4 Sep 2014

Leave a Reply

