Radical Visions

quote_2014-05-29

by Vicki

I was delighted when I heard there was a non-party-political movement with a title that included the word “radical” – I could feel something at last that might interest me that was different from the usual pot hurling political debacle.

Radical. I did initially wonder if it was code for some horned devil political party I’d never heard of, so I went to find out for myself.

The speaker was Pete Ramand, talking about his book Yes: The Radical Case for Independence. What I saw was a young man with great ideas. Someone who had clearly done his homework and thought it through. The part of his vision that excited me most was a constitutional assembly housing many different viewpoints, where our voices will be heard above the main political rhetoric.

Everything I know as a long in the tooth therapist and teacher tells me – let go of your limitations, say what you REALLY want, free of what you think you can’t have and what the fear mongerers would have you believe. Step out of your conditioning and dare to be brave.

I know what I really want. I want a chance for my country to master its own destiny, and I want a say in that destiny. A chance to put the learning back into education, to protect our green hills, to know a Scotland free of the darkness of imperialism, a nation of light. I want to see a resurgence of our scholars and artists. I want to teach children how to stop and breathe as a non-negotiable part of the curriculum. I want to see a healthy population, a leadership willing to think out of the box… I could go on and I no doubt will! But for now thank you RIC for bringing this to my attention.

Tags: , ,

About RIC Aberdeen

The Radical Independence Campaign sees Scottish independence as the first step towards creating a fairer, greener, more democratic place. RIC Aberdeen are a local campaigning group, ordinary people who want to make a difference. We do canvassing every Wednesday night, along with other events. Please get in touch for more info.

Leave a Reply

